Skip to main content

Citation Help

Refworks Citation Manager

RefWorks

Effective June 30, 2019, Wilson Library will no longer subscribe to RefWorks. After that date, students, faculty, and staff will not have access to RefWorks for storing and managing bibliographic citations.

After careful consideration of usage and cost, it was determined that the high cost of the subscription can no longer be justified when there are free or low cost citation management tools available that are as good or better than RefWorks. We apologize for the inconvenience this may cause current RefWorks users.


Wilson Library provides support for the open-source tool Zotero.

Zotero is a free application that collects, manages, and cites research sources. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, insert citations into Word documents, and create bibliographies.

Library Help

  • We offer drop-in sessions and one-on-one assistance.
  • Check our Library calendar for up-to-date information on upcoming citation workshops and drop-in hours.
  • Make an appointment with a librarian for one-on-one help.

Login to RefWorks

UPDATE: Effective June 30, 2019, Wilson Library will no longer subscribe to RefWorks. More information can be found on the RefWorks Transition Guide.

Log In To RefWorks

Group Code is: RWULaVerne

The NEW RefWorks

 

 

 


      Login to Legacy RefWorks

RefWorks has upgraded

Current Users: If you have been a long time RefWorks user, continue using the Legacy RefWorks platform until you are ready to migrate to the new RefWorks platform.

The new interface has a complete new look and functionality, and maintains the high level of reference management that you are accustomed to. Note: the library's tutorials and information will reflect the new RefWorks platform. 

New Users: Start using the NEW RefWorks interface today!

 

 

 


       Login to the new RefWorks

RefWorks

What is RefWorks?

  • A web-based bibliography and database manager
  • You can create your own personal databases of research
  • You can create bibliographies by importing citation information from online databases.
  • Automatically format your references in the style of your choice (APA, MLA and many more)

Many of the University of La Verne's databases provide a direct export link to RefWorks - including EBSCO, ProQuest, and JSTOR.

Where Can I Find RefWorks?

From the main library website, choose Find from the dropdown menu.  Then click on RefWorks

 

The RefWorks Guide includes a variety of screencast tutorials on how to use RefWorks, such as:

  • Creating an Account
  • Exporting from EbscoHost
  • Exporting from ProQuest
  • Exporting from LeoPac and Link+
  • Creating Folders
  • Creating Bibilographies
  • Using Write-n-Cite

 

Steps for Creating a RefWorks Account

New to RefWorks?

Before you use RefWorks, you will need to create your RefWorks account. It's free for all University of La Verne students, faculty, staff, and alumni. In order to create an account you must use your University of La Verne email account.

  • Starting on library homepage, go up to Find
  • Click RefWorks. This takes us to the RefWorks login
  • Click the link: “Create Account
  • Enter your La Verne email, click Check
  • Enter a password to create a new account, and click Sign Up
  • An activation email will be sent to your La Verne email. Click the activation link. 

Ref Works Help