Learning Commons at the
Women and Photography in Oxford Art Online
Use the article below to help you identify the names of women photographers, as well as related topics.
ARTICLES
Use one of the article databases below to look for articles.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowCovering subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features content from over 360 full-text journals and includes an image collection of over 63,000 images.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowFeatures hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a 'high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats' in the areas of language, literature, mathematics, music, anthropology, sociology, art, education, sciences, business, and political science.
BOOKS
Do a KEYWORD search on the name of the photographer (e.g. "Cindy Sherman") or a topic (e.g. "women and photography").
Use the Wilson Library catalog to identify books. Be prepared to utilize LINK+ as needed in order to identify a book on your topic that may not be housed at ULV. Allow extra time to get the book.
- OneSearch for Books (Library Catalog) This link opens in a new windowSearch for books and ebooks in the Wilson Library.
OTHER USEFUL GUIDES
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide - Purdue UniversityHelpful website from the Purdue University Writing center.
WEBSITES
WEB SITES: Use the Web to find museum, university, or research institution WEB sites, such as the MET Museum, the George Eastman House, the Smithsonian Institution, the Library of Congress, etc. These sites have .org, .edu, or .gov domain names. You can also utilize commercial web sites with .com in their domain names. Be sure to use a mix of resources.
NEED HELP? ASK ME QUESTIONS!
Karen Beavers
she/her
Contact:
Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-6pm
kbeavers@laverne.edu
Leave a Message: (909) 448-4406
Subjects: Art & Art History, Communications, Comparative Literature, Course Guides, Creative Writing, Digital Media, English, Ethnic Studies, French, Gender Studies, How To Guides, Journalism, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Photography, Religion, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Spanish, Theatre Arts, Writing