Zotero is a citation management tool built into your web browser -- Firefox, Safari, or Chrome -- that helps you collect, organize, and share citations. Zotero also helps you create and format bibliographies in a wide variety of citation styles (APA, Chicago, MLA, etc.) for your research projects.
Zotero is freely available for download from www.zotero.org.
Zotero imports data, and in many cases full-text PDFs, from the most popular electronic databases, including EBSCO, JSTOR, Google Scholar, ProQuest, PubMed. It also works with journal publishers, including SAGE, ScienceDirect, SpringerLink, Taylor and Francis.
Can't (or don't want to) install any software? Use ZoteroBib to create a standalone bibliography to paste into a document.
Should I use ZoteroBib or Zotero?
ZoteroBib and Zotero are both free, open-source tools created to help people manage their research. Choose whichever one is right for you.
Where do I download Zotero?
You can download Zotero on the Zotero download page.
How do I install Zotero?
Open the .dmg you downloaded and drag Zotero to the Applications folder. You can then run Zotero from Spotlight, Launchpad, or the Applications folder and add it to your Dock like any other program.
Run the setup program you downloaded.
Zotero users are given 300 MB of free Zotero File Storage, with larger storage plans available for purchase. To check your usage and/or sign up for additional storage, visit the storage settings of your Zotero account.
For many databases and websites, Zotero senses when a list of books or articles is displayed by showing an icon in the address bar. This citation information can be saved with just a few clicks.
To include a PDF or any other file from your computer in Zotero, simply drag it to Zotero — you can drag to an existing item to attach the file or drag between items to store as an independent item. Zotero will automatically retrieve bibliographic metadata for the PDFs.
To create a bibliography or a citations list in Zotero:
The Zotero Style Repository <http://www.zotero.org/styles/> currently offers, and regularly updates, annotated styles for two bibliographic formats:
These styles use the information stored in Zotero's Abstract field to display the annotation.
Use the following right-click technique to create a file with the annotated bibliography.
NOTE: The following two Zotero bibliography creation techniques do NOT generate properly formatted annotations:
Zotero offers free plugins for three word processing platforms: Microsoft Word, LibreOffice, and Google Docs. These plugins help you insert citations as you write and then generate a complete bibliography from the citations in your document.