Subject Guides: Theatre Arts: Secondary Sources: Articles and Books

Secondary Sources

Books and journal articles on the history of plays and performance.
Biographies of artists and theatre workers.
Works that provide historical, social, cultural context for theatre productions (subject matter and viewing.)

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search many of the Wilson Library article databases, videos, and books at one time.

Find information about history, culture, and related arts.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online, an authoritative resource for music research with over 57,000 articles written by over 6,000 scholars charting the history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Also includes searches for the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music.

Internet Broadway Database
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Internet UK Theatre Database
Formerly known as Arts Archive, the iUKTDb (Internet UK Theatre Database) contains all the old production and performance listings created and maintained for websites such as UKTW, SeatChoice, Whatsonstage and more.
Oxford Performing Arts Resources
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries on theatre, dance, opera and other performing arts.