Subject Guides: Finance & Economics: Corporate Filings & Annual Reports

Welcome!

This LibGuide will help you locate databases and website resources to assist you in your research. Use the tabs on the left hand side of the page to navigate among the different types of information. If you need assistance please click on the 24/7 Chat service or contact me using the links on the left hand side of the page.

Snapshots

For a quick profile of a public company's financial position, use one of the following:

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of 130M public and private businesses. Includes Annual Revenues, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, and financials.

Scholarly Articles (In Order of Recommended)

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This resource brings together complete ProQuest databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Covers several different subject areas and comprising of: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Primier, Regional Business News, ATLA, Communication and Mass Media, Alt Health Watch, Newspaper Source, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a 'high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats' in the areas of language, literature, mathematics, music, anthropology, sociology, art, education, sciences, business, and political science.

Executive Compensation

Compensation details are often buried in the company's Proxy Statement filed with the SEC. Start with the EDGAR Compnay Search and limit your results by Form Type "DEF 14A" (Schedule 14A is the definitive proxy statement). In many cases, these filing go back to 1993.

Demographics, Industry & Market Information, and Statistics

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
A business reference tool examining countries, consumers and industries. The database is comprised of three areas - statistics, reports and comments.

Annual Reports

Annual reports to shareholders and 10-K reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange commission may be obtained from 3 primary sources:

Annual Reports.com
Many companies now publish their annual report to shareholders on their corporate website. Look for links to current reports at AnnualReports.com
EDGAR Website (Security and Exchange Commission - SEC)
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of 130M public and private businesses. Includes Annual Revenues, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, and financials.

Annual Report Surrogates

Among the many surrogates or summaries of corporate financial information are these time-tested sources:

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of 130M public and private businesses. Includes Annual Revenues, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, and financials.
Value Line This link opens in a new window
On-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.

Streaming Media

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos in the humanities, social sciences, education, business and the arts from publishers such as Films for the Humanities and Social Sciences, Cambridge, and Meridian.
Kantola Productions This link opens in a new window
Stanford University has hosted the Stanford Executive Briefings monthly business forum for over twenty years. CEO's, professors, innovators and other experts share their knowledge in areas of expertise and research on critical issues in these videos produced by Kantola productions.

Search for Books and More

Start Here to Search for Books or E-books Available to You.

Type in a keyword, title or author. When searching you do not need to include "the", "a" or "an" at the beginning.

Search Library Books and eBooks

Finance & Economics

Your Librarian

Ebooks