Finance & Economics

The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers.

The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output.

The Division of International Prices (DIP) produces and disseminates data on the Nation's foreign trade. The DIP, as the primary source of data on price change.

The HPI is a broad measure of the movement of single-family house prices. The HPI is a weighted, repeat-sales index, meaning that it measures average price changes in repeat sales or refinancings on the same properties. This information is obtained by reviewing repeat mortgage transactions on single-family properties whose mortgages have been purchased or securitized by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac since January 1975. The HPI serves as a timely, accurate indicator of house price trends at various geographic levels. Because of the breadth of the sample, it provides more information than is available in other house price indexes. It also provides housing economists with an improved analytical tool that is useful for estimating changes in the rates of mortgage defaults, prepayments and housing affordability in specific geographic areas. The HPI includes house price figures for the nine Census Bureau divisions, for the 50 states and the District of Columbia, and for Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs) and Divisions. FHFA publishes monthly and quarterly HPI reports. See latest HPI Report. See HPI release dates for 2014 and 2015.

The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.

The National Restaurant Association's Restaurant Performance Index (RPI) is a monthly composite index that tracks performance of the national restaurant industry.

United States Census Bureau
- The SAIPE program produces single-year estimates of median household income and poverty for states and all counties.

Links to specific demographic topics including age, sex, race, veteran status, migration, well-being, and more.

he Census Bureau reports income from several major household surveys and programs. Each of these surveys differs from the others in some way, such as the length and detail of its questionnaire, the number of households included (sample size), and the methodology used to collect and process the data. See Guidance about Sources to see which survey meets your specific needs, and Income Data by Source to access data from specific surveys.

The BEA Advisory Committee advises the Director of BEA on matters related to the development and improvement of BEA’s national, regional, industry, and international economic accounts, especially in areas of new and rapidly growing economic activities arising from innovative and advancing technologies, and provides recommendations from the perspectives of the economics profession, business, and government. The Federal Economic Statistics Advisory Committee (FESAC) advises the Directors of the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S Census Bureau, and the Commissioner of the Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics, on statistical methodology and other technical matters related to the collection, tabulation, and analysis of federal economic statistics.

Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys approximately 144,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 554,000 individual work sites, in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on non-farm payrolls.

Each month the Current Employment Statistics program surveys about 144,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 554,000 individual worksites, in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on non-farm payrolls for all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and about 400 metropolitan areas and divisions.

The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of households conducted by the Bureau of Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It provides a comprehensive body of data on the labor force, employment, unemployment, persons not in the labor force, hours of work, earnings, and other demographic and labor force characteristics.

Business Employment Dynamics is a set of statistics generated from the Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages program. These quarterly data series consist of gross job gains and gross job losses statistics from 1992 forward. These data help to provide a picture of the dynamic state of the labor market.

The Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS) program produces monthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, States, counties, metropolitan areas, and many cities, by place of residence.

The Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) program produces employment and wage estimates annually for over 800 occupations. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual States, and for metropolitan and non-metropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available.

The Department of Labor's Unemployment Insurance (UI) programs provide unemployment benefits to eligible workers who become unemployed through no fault of their own, and meet certain other eligibility requirements.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. State, local, and Federal Government data are detailed for selected industries.

The Existing-Home Sales data measures sales and prices of existing single-family homes for the nation overall, and gives breakdowns for the West, Midwest, South, and Northeast regions of the country. These figures include condos and co-ops, in addition to single-family homes.

This page provides national and regional data on the number of new single-family houses sold and for sale. It also provides national data on median and average prices, the number of houses sold and for sale by stage of construction, and other statistics. The data are from the Survey of Construction (SOC), which is partially funded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

The Annual Capital Expenditures Survey (ACES) provides data on capital spending for new and used structures and equipment by U.S. non-farm businesses with and without employees. Data have been collected annually beginning with data for 1994. Also, every five years, for years ending in "3" and "8", detailed data by types of structures and types of equipment have been collected from companies with employees. In 2010, it was decided that this detailed data should be collected for years ending in "2" and "7" beginning in 2013, to align with the years in which the Economic Census is conducted. United States Code, Title 13, authorizes this survey and makes responding mandatory; it also protects the confidentiality of respondents and the data they provide.

These statistics are an important input for federal agencies constructing composite national economic measures, such as the Bureau of Economic Analysis' estimates of private-fixed investments, a major component of gross domestic product; the Bureau of Labor Statistics' estimates of capital stocks for productivity analysis; and the Federal Reserve Board's Flow of Funds accounts. Industry analysts and businesses use these data for market analysis, economic forecasting, product development, and business planning.

Current and historical reports on manufactured goods. Don't miss the "related links" to the right of the page.

Federal Reserve System
From the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Current and historical release dates and information are available.

United States Census Bureau
- The Manufacturers' Shipments, Inventories, and Orders (M3) survey measures current industrial activity.

Select the tab for Information and news for a variety of free reports.

The NAM offers a variety of manufacturers’ resources that support and advance the manufacturing agenda and highlight the vital role of manufacturing in our nation’s economic vitality. These resources range from economic statistics and manufacturing industry data to analysis of recent manufacturing related court cases and policy issue one-pagers.

United States Census Bureau
The Survey of Plant Capacity Utilization provides statistics on the rates of capacity utilization for the U.S. manufacturing and publishing sectors.