Faculty Commons: Publications by La Verne Faculty

The fourteenth-century Middle English poem Pearl is one of the best dream vision poems ever written, yet its language (the North-west Midlands dialect of late-medieval England) and literary allusions (to biblical, mythological, and medieval works) make it difficult for modern readers to understand. This new dual-language edition of Pearl provides the original Middle English with a facing-page modern English translation.

According to Celtic legend, a selkie is a seal underwater and a woman on land. Sometimes she emerges from the ocean, shedding her white selkie-coat to dance on the sand in moonlight. In "Song of the Selkie," the Selkie voices her experience of being caught between two worlds: one of the sea, of freedom, and the other of marriage and motherhood.

This book consists of a series of 24 edited articles that Laura Marcus, wife of Caltech professor Rudolph Marcus, wrote in Caltech publications between 1987 and 1999. Books on scientific communities have typically focused on the “great men” of science; this text focuses on the women of Caltech: the spouses of faculty members and Caltech presidents, as well as the first female professor in Caltech history, Professor Olga Taussky-Todd in Mathematics. Each article was based on oral history interviews Laura Marcus conducted. This collection of articles shows how the women and men of Caltech created an exceptional research community of science and engineering, whose members shared common interests and social bonds.

This insightful Handbook presents readers with a comprehensive range of original research within the field of collaborative public management (CPM). As a central area of study and practice in public administration, the Handbook explores the most important questions facing collaboration and provides future research directions and new areas of study.Featuring expert contributions from a diverse range of scholars, this Handbook showcases the emergence of collaborative governance research and charts connections among the multiple arenas of CPM; including public/private partnerships, emergency management and climate change management.

Reflecting the astonishing cultural variety of this period, The American Novel After Ideology, 1961-2000 examines Franny and Zooey, Carlene Hatcher Polite's The Flagellants (1967), Leslie Marmon Silko's Almanac of the Dead (1991), and Philip Roth's The Human Stain (2001) alongside the various discussions around ideology with which they intersect. Each novel's plotless narratives, dissolving subjectivities, and cultural codes organize the texts' peculiar relations to the post-ideological age, suggesting an aesthetic return of the repressed.

Program development is central to the work of student affairs professionals, yet the field has not prioritized the development of competency in this area. This theory-to-practice,sequential guide to program development fills that gap in the literature. The authors describe the elements of program planning and delivery from the inception of the idea through the use of assessment to revise and improve the program for the future. Starting with a foundational understanding of this process, the book proceeds to a step-by-step process, taking a program from an idea to a proposal with goals, objectives, budget, and timeline with tasks, and beyond planning to implementation. The book concludes with stressing the importance of assessment as the program continues to develop over time. The authors leave readers with tools and templates to support the process.

This insightful Handbook presents readers with a comprehensive range of original research within the field of collaborative public management (CPM). As a central area of study and practice in public administration, the Handbook explores the most important questions facing collaboration and provides future research directions and new areas of study.Featuring expert contributions from a diverse range of scholars, this Handbook showcases the emergence of collaborative governance research and charts connections among the multiple arenas of CPM; including public/private partnerships, emergency management and climate change management.

This insightful Handbook presents readers with a comprehensive range of original research within the field of collaborative public management (CPM). As a central area of study and practice in public administration, the Handbook explores the most important questions facing collaboration and provides future research directions and new areas of study.Featuring expert contributions from a diverse range of scholars, this Handbook showcases the emergence of collaborative governance research and charts connections among the multiple arenas of CPM; including public/private partnerships, emergency management and climate change management.

Silence, Implicite et Non-Dit chez Rousseau/Silence, the Implicit, and the Unspoken in Rousseau capitalizes on a great number of publications dealing with Rousseau's analysis of languages and language, speech versus writing, of voice (including the voice of nature). But this volume is particularly dedicated to the study of the functioning and the effects of silence, the implicit and the unspoken in Rousseau's thought. His approach is both polyvalent and consistent, and his reflections on silence are associated with other aesthetic, political, and moral concerns in his work.