“The Impact of Resonance and Dissonance on Effective Physician–Patient Communication” in Individual, Relational, and Contextual Dynamics of Emotions by 
"Collaboration in public budgeting " in Handbook of Collaborative Public Management by 
“Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.” In Government at Work by 
“California District 31 Race (Pete Aguilar v. Paul Chabot): Open Seat in the Golden State.” In The Roads to Congress 2014 by 
The Roads to Congress 2016 by 
Local Politics and Mayoral Elections in 21st Century America by 
"Complexity theory and the collapse of policy subsystems: Insights from the rise and fall of redevelopment in California." In Compact II: Administrative Strategies for Complex Governance Systems: Challenges of making Public Administration and complexity t by 
"Building Entrepreneurial Community: A Collaborative Benefit Corporation for Women Empowering Women" in Socio-Tech Innovation by 
"Ethics in international business negotiations." In Handbook of Conflict Management Research by "Limitations of collaborative public management in American fiscal federalism" in Handbook of Collaborative Public Management by 
Governance Networks in Public Administration and Public Policy by 
"Policy Networks." In Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy by Compact II: Administrative Strategies for Complex Governance Systems: Challenges of making Public Administration and complexity theory work by 
101+ Careers in Gerontology by
Describes a wealth of diverse career opportunities in gerontology and how to prepare for them How do you know if a career in gerontology is right for you? What opportunities exist in the field? Completely updated to reflect significant changes to policy and management of resources, the second edition of "101 Careers in Gerontology" provides a wealth of helpful and timely guidance in this rapidly growing field. Written for all levels of job seekers ranging from community college students to credential-seeking professionals, the book outlines a multitude of opportunities that dovetail with careers ranging from sociologist and home care agency administrator to architect and documentary filmmaker. Interviews with practitioners provide insight into job particulars and the experience of starting out with a degree versus on-the-job learning. The book describes five emerging gerontology-related fields, updates already existing job profiles including salary scales, and includes many new careers and their education requirements. New interviews are replete with advice and job search tips. Surprising additions to the list of career profiles include financial planner for elders, custom clothier, health coach, social or cultural historian, travel/tourism specialist, senior theater director, and many others. This second edition encompasses career changes and opportunities resulting from the newly created Administration for Community Living, and those influenced by policy changes in Medicare, Medicaid, Social Security, and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. Also new to the second edition are lists of gerontology professional organizations that can be helpful career search resources and links to professional organizations and other websites specific to each career profile. Changes to the Second Edition Include: - Many new careers and their education requirements - Updated job profiles including salary scales - A description of three types of gerontology career paths and how to prepare for them - Coverage of such emerging fields as entrepreneurial gerontology, global aging, journalism and aging, and urban gerontology - Career changes resulting from policy changes in relevant government agencies - Lists of professional organizations and websites specific to each career profile - 13 new interviews and 12 interviews updated from first edition - Information about national, international, and local gerontology organizations including student and new professional member sections - Updated and expanded glossary of acronyms
The Aging Networks by
As our population ages, the need for comprehensive, up-to-date knowledge about aging services in the United States becomes more and more crucial. This highly accessible and concise text about such resources provides students and practitioners of gerontology-along with all professionals whose work concerns the well-being of older adults-with a current, detailed description and analysis of federal, state, local, and global programs and services for older people with or without cognitive, physical, and social needs. Thoroughly updated to encompass the new information available concerning later life, it reflects critical changes to legislation, health care, and current trends, and focuses on the strengths of older adults, their diversity, and the role our multilayered aging network plays in advocacy, community independence, and engagement. Commentary and critical thinking challenges from policymakers, program directors, and educators facilitate high-level thinking and independent analysis of the aging networks, past, present, and future. The eighth edition underscores recent policy changes and how these changes will impact the lives of older adults. "Perspectives" boxes throughout the text highlight complex themes addressed by experts, and "Critical Thinking" topics and questions encourage reflection and discussion. The new edition also describes initiatives that highlight best-practice approaches and model projects designed to facilitate positive change. Along with a vast amount of new and revised information reinforced with a variety of perspectives in historical and current contexts, the book features an international perspective highlighting the collaborative efforts driving many aspects of aging network programming. Additionally, the book focuses on the unique issues of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) population along with programs designed to address them. NEW TO THE EIGHTH EDITION: Expert analyses and insights into complex themes Reflects reorganization of the aging network under the Administration for Community Living, and policy changes affecting practice International perspectives such as the World Health Organization's Age-Friendly Cities Project Innovative and model projects and programs Expanded focus on issues unique to the LGBT population The influence of social determinants on older adults and the aging networks Caregiving issues Disaster and emergency preparedness Effects of economic downturn on the aging population Elder mistreatment Changes in employment and retirement patterns Supporting "aging in place" New and expanded educator's ancillary packet
"Career Theory." In The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Adulthood and Aging by 
Success: the psychology of achievement by
Success: The Psychology of Achievement is a dynamic infographic guide that equips you with the tools you need to drive yourself toward success, whether you are seeking improvement in your career, relationships, or in your overall performance. From positive thinking to work-life balance to learning how to say no, the lessons learned from this guide are tailored to your personal situation through questionnaires and self-analysis exercises
"Heavy work investment, bridge employment, and the transition to retirement." In Heavy Work Investment: Its nature, sources, outcomes, and future directions. by 
"The Changing Nature of Work and Retirement." In The Oxford Handbook of Retirement by 
"Leadership for today and tomorrow." In Information Services Today by "Using complexity theory to reframe immigration policies." In Compact II: Administrative Strategies for Complex Governance Systems: Challenges of making Public Administration and complexity theory work. by 
State Crimes Against Democracy by
Notions that democracy is imperilled do not elicit much gainsaying these days. Diminished civil liberties chill dissent, from town hall meetings to full throated Occupy protests. Massive downsizing of state commitments to social wellbeing usher draconian austerity across continents, not to mention the "inside jobs" of banking scandals keyed to global financial collapse. World problems like population growth, species extinction and global warming now defy the very best our current institutions can muster on a competent day. Meanwhile, in synch with Henry David Thoreau, "There are a thousand hacking at the branches of evil to one who is hacking at the root." This volume is intended for the curious and judicious hackers at evil wishing to know how global institutions have been rigged to divest democracy of its demos, and what current global circumstances now beckon of the 99% who need to pay attention.
