Subject Guides: MGMT 596 Graduate Seminar: Data and Statistics

Overview on Datasets & Statistics

What are the differences between data, a dataset, and a database?

Data are observations or measurements (unprocessed or processed) represented as text, numbers, or multimedia.
A dataset is a structured collection of data generally associated with a unique body of work.
A database is an organized collection of data stored as multiple datasets. Those datasets are generally stored and accessed electronically from a computer system that allows the data to be easily accessed, manipulated, and updated.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. Note: You must create an Account using this LINK in order to download data sets from on or off campus.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 75,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and over 5 million business profiles from D&B business points-of-interest business data.
Create an account to save your work, otherwise sign in as a guest. Access to the database is limited to 3 users at a time.

Statistics & Datasets: http://laverne.libguides.com/statistical-data

Using ICPSR: http://laverne.libguides.com/using_icpsr

How to cite data: http://laverne.libguides.com/cite-data