Learning Commons at the
History and Ethnic Studies Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowLiterature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowA web-based, multi-cultural database with information on all aspects of cultural and social life with diverse topics ranging from religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, to economic and political behavior.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowContains cultural, business and travel data, as well as maps and photos of 175 different countries.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis resource covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a 'high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats' in the areas of language, literature, mathematics, music, anthropology, sociology, art, education, sciences, business, and political science.
- ProQuest Social Science Premium This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 social science journals.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProvides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work from professional journals, books, and reports.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for 708 journals dating back to 1908, and includes more than 780 books and monographs, and full text for 9,333 conference papers. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and book reviews in sociology and related disciplines.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowFull text of journals covering: science, business, economics, finance, accounting, law, life sciences, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, etc.
Newspapers
- Los Angeles Times (1986 - current) This link opens in a new windowThe Los Angeles Times (1985-current) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back from 1986 - present. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1994) This link opens in a new windowThe Los Angeles Times (1881-1994) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new windowSearch historical issues of the Los Angeles Times (1881-2012).
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowTo access the New York Times you will need to Create Your Own Account. Get step by step instructions for setting up your account!
NOTE: must re-activate account through the above library link to continue access each year.
With an account you can: *Save articles for later. *Receive custom newsletters. *Email stories, videos and multimedia.
Latin American Databases
- LatAm-StudiesPlus This link opens in a new windowLatAm-Studies brings you the most up to date content from top peer reviewed publications about Latin America and the Caribbean. It is an open access database with more than 50 journals.
- Latin America & Iberian Database This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text academic journals by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas include business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarUse Google Scholar to search for articles in many different subjects. Be sure to connect your library account to Google Scholar so you have access to Laverne's paid subscription resources. More informatoin below.
How Do I Access the Full-Text of an Article in Google Scholar?
Access the full-text of an article you find in Google Scholar by setting your Scholar Library Settings to the University of La Verne. To do this:
1. At Google Scholar, click on the three lines on the left hand side and then click on Settings. 
2. Select Library Links on the left hand side. 
3. Search for University of La Verne, then select the option "University of La Verne - view it @ La Verne" shown below from the results list. Click Save.
4. Now when you use Google Scholar the link "view it @ La Verne" will appear automatically in the results.
