There are many types of government documents eminating from a variety of sources. Examples are: reports, data collections(records), legal papers, executive branch papers, congressional papers, laws, historical documents declassified records, military records, FOIA requests and legal cases.
Government documents are therefore available via many avenues of searching, including, ULV databases, government and non-government websites, and internet search engines.
Fundamentals of Government Information: Mining, Finding, Evaluating, and Using Government Resources by Cassandra HartnettGovernment information is an integral part of library work. Sifting through the massive amount of government data available to find the answers and current information you and your patrons need, however, can be difficult and overwhelming. Fundamentals of Government Information will bring ease and effectiveness to this daunting process by providing you with the background knowledge and tools needed to quickly access the very best government information resources. Here, the editors pool their extensive experience to present, in an approachable and well-organized style, the most current online and print government information resources available. You will find models and techniques throughout, as well as more than 50 chapter exercises. Key topics include: Essential government resources, the nature of government information, and government rules and regulations The court system and judicial law Statistical resources like the Statistical Abstract of the United States Health information and PubMed General scientific information and scientific publishing agencies like NASA and the United States Geologic Survey (USGS) Environmental and energy resources from agencies like the Environmental Protection Agency and the Department of Energy Consumer information from sources such as the Pew Center on the Internet and American Life Census data
Call Number: ZA 5055 .U6 F67 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
State Constitutions of the United States by Robert L. MaddexA survey of the constitutions of all 50 US states, as well as the US territories, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and Puerto Rico. Arranged alphabetically by state, each profile includes the constitution's history and influences, and its division of powers.
Established in 1914, it contains records from 1977 forwards, covering publications from over 120 countries, referencing over 628,000 articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Also a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin forum 1915-1976.
"The official, digital, and secure source for producing, preserving, and distributing official Federal Government publications and information products for Congress, Federal agencies, and the American public."
"... this New Deal-era publication has been the "official handbook" of the Federal Government. A regularly updated special edition of the Federal Register, it includes leadership tables and describes agency activities and programs of the executive, judicial, and legislative branches of Government, as well as activities and programs of quasi-official agencies and international organizations in which the United States participates as a member."
"The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever."
"Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you."
"..the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office." Carla Hayden, Librarian of Congress
"An official website of the US government." "Our mission is to create and organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice."
"The types of documents that can be found on this site include Proposed Rules, Rules, as well as Notices from the Federal Register – often referred to just as “Notices.” Public Submissions (e.g., comments, citizen petitions, early submissions) and Supporting Materials often associated with regulatory actions can also be found on this site."
There is a fee for the retrieval or printing and sending of documents. Fee amounts are given on the site. However, to avoid the fee, many documents are available online in an internet search or on databases. When searching the internet, be sure to page back a few pages if you don't see what you need right away.
Founding Documents of the United States as a Constitutional Republic
Constitution Day, September 17th -- Books available in Wilson Library
1787 by Clinton Rossiter; Richard B. MorrisIn this masterly account of the Philadelphia summer when our Constitution was born, Clinton Rossiter establishes his claim that the year 1787 is preeminent in American history. Bringing to life the setting and the challenge, he shows how the delegates hammered out the document on which our government and institutions rest today.
Call Number: KF 4520 .R67 1987
Publication Date: 1987-05-17
Reading the Bible with the Founding Fathers by Daniel L. DreisbachNo book was more accessible or familiar to the American founders than the Bible, and no book was more frequently alluded to or quoted from in the political discourse of the age. How and for what purposes did the founding generation use the Bible? How did the Bible influence their politicalculture?Shedding new light on some of the most familiar rhetoric of the founding era, Daniel Dreisbach analyzes the founders' diverse use of scripture, ranging from the literary to the theological. He shows that they looked to the Bible for insights on human nature, civic virtue, political authority, andthe rights and duties of citizens, as well as for political and legal models to emulate. They quoted scripture to authorize civil resistance, to invoke divine blessings for righteous nations, and to provide the language of liberty that would be appropriated by patriotic Americans.Reading the Bible with the Founding Fathers broaches the perennial question of whether the America founding was, to some extent, informed by religious - specifically Christian - ideas. In the sense that the founding generation were members of a biblically literate society that placed the Bible atthe center of culture and discourse, the answer to that question is clearly "yes." Ignoring the Bible's influence on the founders, Dreisbach warns, produces a distorted image of the American political experiment, and of the concept of self-government on which America is built.
"... A list of depository libraries that receive publications produced or distributed by California state agencies. Libraries designated below as "full" depositories receive copies of each state publication as defined in Government Code section 14902. The other libraries on the list are selective depositories that receive copies of each publication distributed by the Office of State Publishing, and may request other state documents distributed directly by the issuing agencies."
Internet searches on major search engines. Government documents are public domain. (Some archived papers may have certain restrictions). Many documents are available free online. Be sure to page back a few pages if you do not see what you need on the first pages.