Learning Commons at the
Sample Bibliographic Citations using MLA Style
Common citation examples
A Movie on DVD
The Wizard of Oz. Directed by Victor Flemming and King Vidor. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Corp., 1939.
Streaming Movie
Jeanne Dielman, 23 Commerce Quay, 1080 Brussels. Directed by Chantal Akerman. Janus Films (The Criterion Collection), 1975. Kanopy.
TV Series Episode
"RIcky Minds the Baby." I Love Lucy, season 3, episode 14, DesiLu Productions, 1954.
For more detailed information on how to cite images, see the MLA Handbook.
Cite a film or video
Cite a Film or Video
Include the following:
-
Title of the film (in italics.)
-
Director's Name.
-
Film studio or distributor.
-
Year it was released.
Cite an Episode of TV Show
Cite an episode of a TV Show
Include the following:
-
Title of episode (in quotation marks.)
-
Title of TV Show (in italics.)
-
Creator(s)/Producer(s).
-
Season and Episode Number.
-
Distributor.
Citation and Style Guides
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide - Purdue UniversityHelpful website from the Purdue University Writing center.
- Academic Writer (formerly APA Style Central) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Writer (formerly APA Style Central) features three independent but integrated centers that provide expert resources necessary for teaching, learning, and applying the rules of APA Style.
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
Call Number: Permanent Reserve: LB2369 .G53 2016ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016-04-01
How to Write about Film
A Short Guide to Writing about Film by
This best-selling text is a succinct guide to thinking critically and writing precisely about film. Both an introduction to film study and a practical writing guide, this brief text introduces students to major film theories as well as film terminology, enabling them to write more thoughtfully and critically. With numerous student and professional examples, this engaging and practical guide progresses from taking notes and writing first drafts to creating polished essays and comprehensive research projects. Moving from movie reviews to theoretical and critical essays, the text demonstrates how an analysis of a film can become more subtle and rigorous as part of a compositional process.
Call Number: Wilson Books - 3rd Floor PN1995 .C66 2015ISBN: 0321965248
The Routledge Companion to Film History by
The Routledge Companion to Film Historyis an indispensable guide for anyone studying film history for the first time. The approach taken presents a substantial and readable overview of the field and provides students with a tool of reference that will be valuable throughout their studies. The volume is divided into two parts. The first is a set of eleven essays that approaches film history around the following themes: History of the moving image Film as art and popular culture Production process Evolution of sound Alternative modes: experimental, documentary, animation Cultural difference Film's relationship to history The second is a critical dictionary that explains concepts, summarizes debates in film studies, defines technical terms, describes major periods and movements, and discusses historical situations and the film industry. The volume as a whole is designed as an active system of cross-references: readers of the essays are referred to dictionary entries (and vice versa) and both provide short bibliographies that encourage readers to investigate topics.
ISBN: 9780203841532
