Subject Guides: New Databases:

New Databases 2019-2020

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window Includes 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.
American Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,100 scripts; film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
The Annual Register: A Record of World Events This link opens in a new window The Annual Register is a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758.
Art & Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window Full-text magazine archives spanning the fields of art and architecture from 1895 to 2005.
Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. This resource is only available for Physician Assistant faculty and students.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window Provides full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th century through to the early 21st.
ChiltonLibrary.com This link opens in a new window Authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners; thousands of year, make and model combinations covering popular vehicles of the past 30 years.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window Global coverage of 130M public and private businesses. Includes Annual Revenues, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, and financials.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window A vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window Includes 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection This link opens in a new window Educational films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Terra Nova Films, Fanlight, Kartemquin Films and more.
Dun and Bradstreet Key Business Ratios: Archive Collection This link opens in a new window Archive of financial data for selected industries going back to 1979.
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and early accounts of exploration and discovery.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection contains more than 132,000 titles.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window Provides archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Provides peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across many academic disciplines. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.
Gale Access (Power Search) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collection of databases covering a wide selection of subjects. Allows you to search more than one Gale database at the same time.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window Source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Gale In Context: College This link opens in a new window Provides contextual information on on a wide array of subjects; full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, and links to vetted websites.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Includes authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, primary source documents, and statistics.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, and links to vetted websites for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of social issues.
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Gale In Context: World History This link opens in a new window Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window Provides access to reviews of books, periodicals, and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests; links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window Provides access to current and authoritative content on agriculture and related fields, from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window Academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field; key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. Includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women’s Issues This link opens in a new window Features full text coverage of topics relevant to women around the world, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window Academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields; key subjects covered include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window Access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition; includes thousands of recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields; emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.
Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Provides access to academic journals, reports, and reference sources in the field of education. Key subject areas include administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window Provides access to academic journals and magazines for both business school students and entrepreneurs; content includes insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film making.
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture This link opens in a new window Academic journals and magazines focused on both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets.
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism.
Gale OneFile: Information Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals and trade publications; topics include information infrastructure, metadata architecture, publishing, and more.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines; offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence This link opens in a new window Access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Subject areas include governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, and other fields.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window Academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines; covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines, offering balanced coverage of events in U.S. history.
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers This link opens in a new window Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window Provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines, offering balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window Collection reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Includes more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the UK, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window The backfiles of the US and UK editions of Harper's Bazaar magazine, a fashion, arts, and culture authority from 1867 to the present.
History Vault: American Indians and the American West This link opens in a new window Features records on American Indians and the American West from 1809-1971.
History Vault: American Politics and Society This link opens in a new window Includes: Thomas A. Edison Papers (1850-1919); Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930; and American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate (1960-1975)
History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window Includes: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2; NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
History Vault: International Relations and Military Conflicts This link opens in a new window Includes: Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and Middle East, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969; and Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
History Vault: Women's Studies This link opens in a new window Includes: Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990; and Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps
History Vault: Workers and Labor Unions This link opens in a new window Includes: Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records - coverage of strikes and radical labor unions in the first half of the 20th Century
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window Provides documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window Books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window Provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
Medmastery This link opens in a new window All courses and workshops are fully CME accredited. Pro members can download their CME certificates upon successful completion of activities. This resource is only available for Physician Assistant faculty and students.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window An archival collection of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive) spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy from 1918 to 2015.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages, providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window Collection includes 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950. Drawn from more than 600 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window Database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new window This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.
ProQuest Historical Government Documents This link opens in a new window Includes: Colonial State Papers; the Digital National Security Archive; Documents on British Policy Overseas; The Cecil Papers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Includes: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Cleveland Call and Post, Communist Historical Newspaper Collection, Dayton Daily News, Detroit Free Press, Hartford Courant, Indianapolis Star, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Minneapolis Star Tribune, New York Amsterdam News, New York Tribune / Herald Tribune, Newsday, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, St. Petersburg Times / Tampa Bay Times, The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, The American Israelite, The Arizona Republican, The Atlanta Constitution, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Baltimore Sun, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Cincinnati Enquirer, The Globe and Mail, The Guardian and The Observer, The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, The Korea Times, The Nashville Tennessean, The Scotsman, The Times of India, and Toronto Star.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window First time users must click HERE to create an Account using your @laverne.edu email address.
SciFinder-n is published by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) and provides access to current high-quality scientific information in chemistry and related sciences.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 75,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and over 5 million business profiles from D&B business points-of-interest business data. Create an account to save your work, otherwise sign in as a guest. Access to the database is limited to 3 users at a time.
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window Contains 2,059 plays by 434 playwrights. Offers a view into signal events of the twentieth century—including the Depression, the role of women, the Cold War, and more—through the plays and performances of writers who lived through these decades.
Vogue Italia Archive This link opens in a new window The archive spans all aspects of the fashion world, from trends and runway shows to personalities and industry initiatives, from its launch in 1964 to the present.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window An archive of the influential US fashion trade publication, Women's Wear Daily, starting in 1910 and covering material up to the last twelve months.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 This link opens in a new window Explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window Provides research across the humanities both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period.