Non-Profits

www.guidestar.org/

GuideStar is the leading source of information about U.S. nonprofits and a recognized thought leader for the sector. We pursue a charitable mission to connect people and organizations with information on the programs and finances of 2.2 million IRS-recognized nonprofits. Through this work, GuideStar is creating a more transparent nonprofit sector, increasing knowledge about tax-exempt organizations, and enabling more confident charitable giving.

http://foundationcenter.org

Established in 1956, the Foundation Center is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. Through data, analysis, and training, it connects people who want to change the world to the resources they need to succeed. The Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants — a robust, accessible knowledge bank for the sector. It also operates research, education, and training programs designed to advance knowledge of philanthropy at every level. Thousands of people visit the Center's web site each day and are served in its five library/learning centers and at more than 470 Funding Information Network locations nationwide and around the world.

www.grants.gov/

The Grants.gov program management office was established, in 2002, as a part of the President's Management Agenda. Managed by the Department of Health and Human Services, Grants.gov is an E-Government initiative operating under the governance of the Office of Management and Budget.

Under the President's Management Agenda, the office was chartered to deliver a system that provides a centralized location for grant seekers to find and apply for federal funding opportunities.Today, the Grants.gov system houses information on over 1,000 grant programs and vets grant applications for 26 federal grant-making agencies.

http://www.nsf.gov/publications/

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" With an annual budget of $7.2 billion (FY 2014), we are the funding source for approximately 24 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.

http://www.hhs.gov/grants/

The mission of the Department of Health and Human Services is to help provide the building blocks that Americans need to live healthy, successful lives. We fulfill that mission every day by providing millions of children, families, and seniors with access to high-quality health care, by helping people find jobs and parents find affordable child care, by keeping the food on Americans’ shelves safe and infectious diseases at bay, and by pushing the boundaries of how we diagnose and treat disease.

www.ipl.org
Provides information about the association's committees, conferences, etc.

calnonprofits.org/

The California Association of Nonprofits (CalNonprofits) is a statewide membership organization that brings nonprofits together to advocate for the communities we serve. In 2014 we are entering a new period of renewed activity and impact, and we invite you to join us as we chart a new course.

www.ftb.ca.gov/business/exempt_organizations/

We are responsible for administering two of California's major tax programs: Personal Income Tax and the Corporation Tax. We also have responsibility for administering other nontax programs and delinquent debt collection functions, including delinquent vehicle registration debt collections on behalf of the Department of Motor Vehicles, and court–ordered debt.

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/

California Franchise Tax Board
Charities and Nonprofits (Exempt Organizations). What's new. Reporting Nonprofit Organizations that Receive Public Resources.

http://www.usa.gov/Business/Nonprofit.shtml

Find information and services for nonprofits, including grants, loans, assistance, taxes, management and more.

http://www.irs.gov/Charities-&-Non-Profits

Tax information for charities and non-profits.

www.charitynavigator.org/

Charity Navigator, America's largest independent charity evaluator, provides free ratings of the Financial Health and Accountability & Transparency of charitable operations.

www.boardsource.org/eweb/

BoardSource has long recognized the critical role that boards play in overseeing their organizations’ mission, finance, and strategic direction. With more than 25 years of hands-on experience working with nonprofit boards, BoardSource has become the go-to resource for funders, partners, and nonprofit leaders who want to magnify their impact within their community through exceptional governance practices. BoardSource supports a community of more than 90,000 individuals with customized diagnostics, live and virtual trainings, membership programs, and a comprehensive library of governance resources and publications that include original content. BoardSource is a 501(c)(3) organization.

http://foundationcenter.org/gainknowledge/

Discover the latest data available on U.S. foundation philanthropy. Our research staff analyzes and interprets the data we collect on foundations. Learn about national, regional, international, and special topic trends and get the latest statistics on foundation giving.

http://topnonprofits.com/lists/

These nonprofits cover a whole range of range of missions from international development and disaster relief, animal welfare, to museums.

Directory of Charities and Nonprofit Organizations

GuideStar is the most complete source of information about U.S. charities and other nonprofit organizations there is. Search our database of more than 1.8 million IRS-recognized organizations to find a charity to support, benchmark your own nonprofit's performance, research the sector, and more.

www.idealist.org/

Directory of nonprofit web resources: 16000 organizations in 130 countries; resources for nonprofit managers

Use the Discovery search box to locate articles, books, videos, and more.