Welcome to the guide for research tools and methods - please let me know if you have any questions! Below are several Sage overall research methods databases to query. - Liberty McCoy
This tool is designed to help you create research projects and understand the methodology. Includes over 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series, 2 major works collating a selection of journal articles, and newly commissioned videos.
Choose from hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects.Browse all cases, cases from SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 1, SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 2, SAGE Research Methods Cases: Medicine and Health, or browse by the options below.
Methodspace is an online community for social and behavioral research methods, which enables scholars and students to share experiences and solve problems on a global scale.
The main purpose of survey research is to describe the characteristics of a population. This is usually accomplished by collecting data from a sample. Therefore, the first step in sampling is to define the population.
Designed for the nontechnical researcher or generalist, this text provides the reader with a good understanding of sampling principles. The author gives a detailed, nontechnical description and guidelines with limited presentation of formulas to help reach basic research decisions, such as when to choose a sample vs. census and nonprobability vs. probability sampling as well as how to select sample size and sample type. Intended for the social and behavioral sciences, Sampling Essentials is appropriate for undergraduate students, graduate students, and research practitioners.
Applied Survey Samplingaddresses the conceptual and practical aspects of sampling for social science, health science, and business researchers. It aims to provide applied and non-technical explanations of conceptual and practical aspects of sampling for the non-statistician. This book addresses the rapidly changing technology landscape of survey research, including non-response rates, the internet, cell phones, and social media. It also includes coverage of big data, using cases and diverse examples to illustrate key findings.
This Sample Size Calculator is presented as a public service of Creative Research Systems survey software. You can use it to determine how many people you need to interview in order to get results that reflect the target population as precisely as needed. You can also find the level of precision you have in an existing sample.
Produced by the APA, this database provides structured information about tests in the fields of psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing, this resource contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. It also provides Pruebas Publicadas en Español, a bibliographical database that provides descriptions of more than 400 Spanish-language tests.
If you want to use surveys, questionnaires, interview questions, tests, measures, or other instruments created by other people, you are required to locate and follow usage permissions. The instrument may be protected by copyright and/or licensing restrictions.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. Note: You must create an Account using this LINK in order to download data sets from on or off campus.
The Distance Learning Dataset Training (DLDT) system is an online, interactive tool that allows you to learn about the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) data products across the education spectrum and evaluate them for your particular purposes. The DLDT modules are designed to introduce you to many NCES datasets, their design, and special considerations for analysis to facilitate effective use.
Voyant Tools is a web-based text reading and analysis environment. It is a scholarly project that is designed to facilitate reading and interpretive practices for digital humanities students and scholars as well as for the general public.
For undogmatic textual analysis and markup. Computer Assisted Text Markup and Analysis. In CATMA you can work the way, which best fits your research question: qualitative or quantitative, bottom-up and exploratory, or descriptive and taxonomy-guided, individually or in a team—you choose.
Have you ever searched "free qualitative research software" only to be disappointed that nothing lets you tag your materials? Search no more! Taguette is a free and open-source tool for qualitative research. You can import your research materials, highlight and tag quotes, and export the results!
Netlytic is a community-supported text and social networks analyzer for social media researchers and educators to study public discourse on social media sites. It is made by researchers for researchers, no programming/API skills required.
nodegoat allows scholars to build datasets based on their own data model and offers relational modes of analysis with spatial and chronological forms of contextualisation. By combining these elements within one environment, scholars are able to instantly process, analyse and visualise complex datasets relationally, diachronically and spatially.
Audio player software for PC or Mac designed to assist the transcription of audio recordings. The free version supports common audio formats, including wav, mp3, wma and dct.
Free, open source, cross-platform audio software. Audacity is an easy-to-use, multi-track audio editor and recorder for Windows, macOS, GNU/Linux and other operating systems.
Developed by a group of volunteers as open source.
Dictation lets you use speech-to-text to author content in Office with a microphone and reliable internet connection. It's a quick and easy way to get your thoughts out, create drafts or outlines, and capture notes.
Sampling Essentials by 
Applied Survey Sampling by