Are you looking for general information on a topic? Start with these collections of encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries.
The Professional Paralegal by
PROFESSIONAL PARALEGAL, THE: A GUIDE TO FINDING A JOB AND CAREER SUCCESS covers more than just how to land a job, it shows how to prepare for and build a paralegal career. Taking a practical approach, it explains the dynamics of working in the legal environment, identifies the purpose and payoff to continual professional development, and offers strategies for working collaboratively with attorneys and others drawn into a case. Each chapter integrates ethics tips, checklists for success and end-of-chapter questions. Covering a full range of career issues, it offers advice on how to land your first paralegal job, develop marketable workplace habits and establish yourself in the paralegal profession.
Becoming a Paralegal by
Becoming a Paralegal provides everything needed to know about entering the exciting field of law: how to choose the right training program (short courses versus four-year degrees), what it takes to succeed in the field, the various areas in which paralegals can specialize, career advancement opportunities, and more. This exciting title details all aspects involved in paralegal work.
The Empowered Paralegal: Effective, Efficient, and Professional by
Every day thousands of paralegals and legal assistants leave their office feeling frustrated, overworked and under utilized. As an attorney and professor, author Robert E. Mongue, J.D. hears from paralegals who, despite their education and professional training, feel poorly equipped to meet the real challenges of today¿s law office. Too often paralegals are taught law and procedure but not how to effectively manage their time, workloads and clients. Too often they feel ineffective and powerless when dealing with attorneys, clients and court personnel, inside and outside the office. Over thirty years as a litigator employing, training and teaching paralegals, Prof. Mongue gathered and developed clear, concise and easy-to-use techniques to teach paralegals how to become a critical component of an effective legal team. He used these techniques in his own law practice and in classrooms, seminars and workshops. These techniques are now together in a practical guide, entitled The Empowered Paralegal. Employment for paralegals and legal assistants is projected to grow much faster than the average for all occupations through 2014. Those empowered with the skills and confidence required to be true professionals will dominate the field. The Empowered Paralegal provides step-by-step, easy-to-understand techniques, written in a friendly, accessible and sometimes humorous way, for managing time, docket calendars, files, clients and litigation. In addition to these management techniques, The Empowered Paralegal provides sound guidance on managing the work relationship with attorneys and on being a professional. The Empowered Paralegal provides important practical office strategies while giving paralegals the empowerment, recognition and respect they and their profession deserve. A useful adjunct to any course, especially ¿Introduction to Paralegalism,¿ The Empowered Paralegal is designed for the student in an internship seminar, the established paralegal, or those entering this fast-growing field.
The Empowered Paralegal: Working with the Elder Client by 
How to Land Your First Paralegal Job by
This book can help you develop the extra competitive edge it takes to get the job you want as a paralegal. Whether you are a student contemplating beginning your career as a paralegal, changing careers, or looking to move ahead in your current job, this book is a practical handbook designed to be used again and again. Completely updated in a new edition, this book will provide you with the tools needed to get in the door with the best possible resume, give a great job interview, and secure the job offer! This new edition features updated web listings, booklists, and more information on individual State certification. By following the job search techniques laid out in this book, you will be rewarded with a career that is satisfying and stimulating.