Photography

Common citation examples 

Bibliographic Entry for an image found in a Book

Wolcott, Marion Post. Family Dinner.  1939. U.S. Farm Security Administration Collection, Prints and Photographs Division, Library of Congress. Washington, D.C.  Melissa A. McEuen. Seeing America: Women Photographers Between the Wars.  Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 2000. 160.

Bibliographic Entry for an image found in an Online Article

Bibliographic Entry for an image Accessed on the Web

Weems, Carrie Mae. Untitled (Man Smoking). 1990. Museum of Modern Art, New York. Web. 2 Feb. 2016. <http://www.moma.org/collection/works/51324?locale=en>

For more detailed information on how to cite images, see the  MLA Handbook.

Cite an Image from a book or article

Include the following:

• Name of the artist.
• Title of the work (in italics.)
• Date of the work, if known. (If unknown, write N.d.)
• Name of the institution that has the work of art (e.g. museum, gallery) OR name of the individual who owns the work.
• City where institution and/or individual collector is located.
• If the collector is unknown, or listed as anonymous, use Private collection without a city name.
• Complete publication information for the source the photograph reproduction (e.g. book or article.)

(Adapted from Section 5.7.6 in MLA Handbook for Writers and Research Papers. New York: Modern Language Association, 2009.)

Cite an Image from the Web

Include the following information:

• Name of the artist.
• Title of the work (in italics.)
• Date of the image, if known. (if unknown, write N.d.)
• Name of the institution (e.g. museum, gallery) OR name of the individual that owns the work.
• City where institution and/or individual collector is located. 
• Title of the web site or database (in italics.)
• Medium of publication (Web.)
• Date you accessed image online.

(Adapted from Section 5.6.2d in the MLA Handbook for Writers and Research Papers. New York: Modern Language Association, 2009.)