Quality reference resources from across the social sciences and humanities, including Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions.
Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past; traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The Los Angeles Times (1985-current) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back from 1986 - present. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
To access the New York Times you will need to Create Your Own Account. Get step by step instructions for setting up your account! NOTE: must re-activate account through the above library link to continue access each year.
With an account you can: *Save articles for later. *Receive custom newsletters. *Email stories, videos and multimedia.
Stanford University has hosted the Stanford Executive Briefings monthly business forum for over twenty years. CEO's, professors, innovators and other experts share their knowledge in areas of expertise and research on critical issues in these videos produced by Kantola productions.
This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
A collection of more than 1,500 streaming videos. Public performances are permitted as long as it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).
Sign in using your La Verne email. Academic Video Online (Alexander Street), delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more.
How an organization manages its information is arguably the most important skill in today's dynamic and hyper-competitive environment. In Enterprise Information Management, editor Paul Baan and a team of expert contributors present a holistic approach to EIM, with an emphasis on action-oriented decision making. The authors demonstrate that EIM must be promoted from the top down, in order to ensure that the entire organization is committed to establishing and supporting the systems and processes designed to capture, store, analyze, and disseminate information. They identify three key "pillars" of applications: (1) business intelligence (the information and knowledge management process itself); (2) enterprise content management (company-wide management of unstructured information, including document management, digital asset management, records management, and web content management); and (3) enterprise search (using electronic tools to retrieve information from databases, file systems, and legacy systems). The authors explore EIM from economic and socio-psychological perspectives, considering the "ROI" (return on information) of IT and related technological investments, and the cultural and behavioral aspects through which people and machines interact. Illustrating concepts through case examples, the authors provide a variety of tools for managers to assess and improve the effectiveness of their EIM infrastructure, considering its implications for customer and client relations, process and system improvements, product and service innovations, and financial performance.
Search for Books and More
Start Here to Search for Books or E-books Available to You.
Type in a keyword, title or author. When searching you do not need to include "the", "a" or "an" at the beginning.