Primary Sources

Includes 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.

A vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and early accounts of exploration and discovery.

Features records on American Indians and the American West from 1809-1971.

Includes: Thomas A. Edison Papers (1850-1919); Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930; and American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate (1960-1975)

Includes: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2; NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses

Includes: Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and Middle East, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969; and Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

Includes: Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990; and Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps

Includes: Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records - coverage of strikes and radical labor unions in the first half of the 20th Century

Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages, providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

Collection includes 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950. Drawn from more than 600 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings.

Includes: Colonial State Papers; the Digital National Security Archive; Documents on British Policy Overseas; The Cecil Papers.

Search historical issues of the Los Angeles Times (1881-2012).

International Newsstream provides full-text news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives dating back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites.

Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.

American historical newspapers from inception to the twentieth century (1690-1922), covering politics, daily life, news reporting, social and cultural issues, and more.

Primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

Full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times (London), one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.

Includes: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Cleveland Call and Post, Communist Historical Newspaper Collection, Dayton Daily News, Detroit Free Press, Hartford Courant, Indianapolis Star, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Minneapolis Star Tribune, New York Amsterdam News, New York Tribune / Herald Tribune, Newsday, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, St. Petersburg Times / Tampa Bay Times, The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, The American Israelite, The Arizona Republican, The Atlanta Constitution, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Baltimore Sun, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Cincinnati Enquirer, The Globe and Mail, The Guardian and The Observer, The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, The Korea Times, The Nashville Tennessean, The Scotsman, The Times of India, and Toronto Star.

Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts.

Wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that explores human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.

Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.

Featuring award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) and covers many educational disciplines.

Features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical political issues of the day.

From 1929–1966 captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century.