Subject Guides: Creative Writing: Start Here: Recommended Databases

Article and Book Databases

OneSearch
Search many of the Wilson Library article databases, videos, and books at one time.
Academic Search Premier

Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Research Library
Access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology.
Gale Academic OneFile
Provides peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across many academic disciplines. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, and links to vetted websites for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of social issues.

News Articles

New York Times
To access the New York Times you will need to Create Your Own Account. Get step by step instructions for setting up your account!
NOTE: must re-activate account through the above library link to continue access each year.
With an account you can: *Save articles for later. *Receive custom newsletters. *Email stories, videos and multimedia.
Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.

Literature Databases

Use these databases to focus on articles about literature. Find articles on novels, poems, plays + writers.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields.
Literature Resource Center
This resource supports coursework and research in English, World Literatures, Film, Theater and across the Humanities.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to search for articles in many different subjects. Be sure to connect your library account to Google Scholar so you have access to Laverne's paid subscription resources. More informatoin below.

How Do I Access the Full-Text of an Article in Google Scholar?

Access the full-text of an article you find in Google Scholar by setting your Scholar Library Settings to the University of La Verne. To do this:

1. At Google Scholar, click on the three lines on the left hand side and then click on Settings.

2. Select Library Links on the left hand side.

3. Search for University of La Verne, then select the option "University of La Verne - view it @ La Verne" shown below from the results list. Click Save.

4. Now when you use Google Scholar the link "view it @ La Verne" will appear automatically in the results.