Subject Guides: Archives and Special Collections: Articles

Start your Research

Start your history research with these recommended article databases. To see additional recommendations for specific topics, see the Resources by Topic tab.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Ccovers history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-quality archive that covers language, literature, mathematics, music, anthropology, sociology, art, education, sciences, business, and political science.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles from a wide range of academic disciplines.

Need More Articles?

SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of journals covering: science, business, economics, finance, accounting, law, life sciences, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, etc.
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistics in Business and Economics, Community, Education, Energy and Environment, Government Finance, Health and Socioeconomic, and Population and Demographics.

Current & Historical Newspapers

Search for historical articles in California newspapers.

Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1994) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (1881-1994) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Los Angeles Times (1986 - current) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (1985-current) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back from 1986 - present. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

California Digital Newspaper Collection
The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To access the New York Times you will need to create your own account. Get step by step instructions for setting up your account!

With a New York Times account you can:
*Save articles for later. Retrieve your Times content from any device.
*Receive custom newsletters. Sign up and get news sent right to your in-box.
*Access content tailored to you. Enjoy personalized articles, videos and slide shows.
*Comment on articles.
*Email stories, videos and multimedia.