Turn Your Topic into Key Words - RCS 111: College Writing B - Professor Holiday

Think about Your Topic

Your research assignment is to explore all the different points of view on a topic. Before you start looking for library resources, you will want to think and write about your topic. Consider some of the following questions to help you develop your topic:

WHO?
- is affected by your topic?
- makes decisions about your topic?
- would write or talk about your topic?
WHAT?
- do you want to find out about your topic?
- are the different issues involved?
- do you already know about your topic?
WHERE?
- what geographic areas are involved?
WHEN?
- is there a history to your topic?
- are there particular time periods you want to focus on?

How to Brainstorm Keywords and Phrases

Brainstorm on the all the key words and phrases that define your topic.

**Key Search Terms for Universal Healthcare in the United States**
universal OR	healthcare OR	united states
socialized OR	health care. OR	US
government	health coverage. OR
	Medicare for All

WHO?
- Doctors, nurses, health professionals
- Politicians, Policy Makers
- Medical/Science Researchers, Doctors, Nurses, Patients, People who don't have health insurance

WHAT?
- Could the U.S. have it?
- How would it work?
WHERE?
- United States
WHEN?
- History of discussions and laws about health care in the U.S.
- current discussions (last few years.)

Use Subject Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Use Subject Encyclopedias

If you need help developing your topic and brainstorming on keywords, take a look at one or more subject encyclopedias.

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Hosting more than 4,700 titles, SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content. Covering: sociology, law, education, healthcare, counseling and more.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 170 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works. Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, and statistical directories.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
An online collection of dictionaries, handbooks, encyclopedias, etc.
Blackwell Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Quality reference resources from across the social sciences and humanities, including Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Contains cultural, business and travel data, as well as maps and photos of 175 different countries.

World Encyclopedia
(Oxford Reference Online) Features concise entries providing essential information on a range of subjects, including world affairs, science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, sports, and popular culture.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
(EBSCOHost) Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Features over 1,200 entries of contributions from over seven hundred experts from around the world; a bibliography of over 10,000 citations.
Encyclopedia.com
A free online encyclopedia featuring premier titles like The Columbia Encyclopedia, Oxford’s World Encyclopedia, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Encyclopedia of Business in Today's World
With more than 1,000 entries, this resource is packed with essential and up-to-date information on the state of business in our world.
Encyclopedia of Education
Features 850 articles addressing topics in K-12 and higher education, policy and legislation, educational organizations, learning and instruction, out-of-school influences, teacher preparation, and testing. There are also 121 biographies of education figures.