Subject Guides: EDUC 451 Infant &amp; Toddler: Finding articles

Tips for searcning

Search by Words

Searching library resources are not like searching Google where you enter a phrase or question into the search box and get results. Enter words that represent the concept you are searching. You can enter multiple words using AND or OR. Don't enter a sentence or long phrase into the search box.

Use AND or OR

Use care when adding ANDs or ORs to your search.
AND will narrow your search. For every word searched with AND, the database will search for results with ALL of those words. So with each added keyword, you will get fewer results.
OR will broaden your search. This is very effective if you are not getting enough results. Search similar keywords/concepts, e.g. women or female. It's essentially doing 2 searches at once. This is useful if you are not sure what words/terms are used in articles.

Narrow By Date

Think about the date range you want to search. You can adjust the dates searched in all databases to get articles, books, movies published within a specific time range.

Child development databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A full-text periodical database with 45 APA (American Psychological Association) journals in psychology and related disciplines. List of journals available full-text.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work from professional journals, books, and reports.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text for 708 journals dating back to 1908, and includes more than 780 books and monographs, and full text for 9,333 conference papers. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and book reviews in sociology and related disciplines.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Gives access to full text articles and images from over 780 educational publications.
ProQuest Social Science Premium This link opens in a new window
This collection contains databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 social science journals.

Check for full-text

CHECK FOR FULL-TEXT is the Library’s link resolver. It connects Wilson Library users from databases and discovery tools to the library’s electronic journal collection, where they may find full text. It has been enabled in many electronic resources licensed by Wilson Library.

It appears as CHECK FOR FULL-TEXT at the bottom of the citation in Wilson Library databases, such as Education Source, when no .pdf or html links to full text are available for that article. Clicking on the CHECK FOR FULL-TEXT link initiates a search by the link resolver software to locate the article in any of the 180+ databases to which Wilson Library subscribes.