Tests, Measurements and Scales

In recruitment, selection and assessment procedures you are increasingly likely to encounter aptitude tests, which are designed to measure your potential for achievement. The Ultimate Aptitude Book includes verbal, numerical, perceptual and practical tests as well as those testing specific aptitudes such as memory and dexterity. It also covers personality and motivational tests, which assess leadership, management and social awareness aptitudes. Providing essential practice for school or college leaver, employee or manager, it is also invaluable for anyone who wants to see how their own, unique aptitudes might best be used in a wide range of careers. For those people in a career, it will show them how to develop their existing role as well as guiding them towards a possible change of direction.

One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure the problem. This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provideguidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced.This first volume, focusing on measures for use with couples, families, and children, includes an introduction to the basic priniciples of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the Rapid Assessment Inventories included herein. Volume I also contains descriptionsand reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them.This book is designed as the definitive reference volume on assessment measures for both practice and research in clinical mental health. This fifth edition of Corcoran and Fischer's Measures for Clinical Practice and Research is updated with a new preface, new scales, and updated information forexisting instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine.Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.

One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure the problem. This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provideguidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced.This second volume, focusing on measures for use with adults, whose conditions of concerns are not focused on family relationships or couple relationships, includes an introduction to the basic priniciples of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the RapidAssessment Inventories included herein. Volume II also contains descriptions and reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them.This book is designed as the definitive reference volume on assessment measures for both practice and research in clinical mental health. This fifth edition of Corcoran and Fischer's Measures for Clinical Practice and Research is updated with a new preface, new scales, and updated information forexisting instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine.Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.

The Handbook of Marketing Scales, Third Edition represents a clear, concise, and easy-to-use compilation of multi-item, self-report measures developed and/or frequently used in consumer behavior and marketing research. - Over 150 scales are included in the handbook. Many of these scales were originally published in marketing- and consumer-related journals or conference proceedings. Including them in one volume helps reduce the time it takes to locate instruments for survey research. - Scales included have a reasonable theoretical base, are developed within the marketing or consumer behavior literature, are composed of several items or questions, use some scaling procedures, and include estimates of reliability and/or validity, making these scales especially relevant and "proven" for marketing scholars and professionals. - Each scale includes the following information so that users can quickly and easily learn about the scale: construct, description, development, samples, validity, scores, sources, other evidence, other sources, references, and scale items.

Expanding and building on the measures included in the original 1994 volume, Communication Research Measures II: A Sourcebook provides new measures in mass, interpersonal, instructional, and group/organizational communication areas, and highlights work in newer subdisciplines in communication, including intercultural, family, and health. It also includes measures from outside the communication discipline that have been employed in communication research. The measures profiled here are "the best of the best" from the early 1990s through today. They are models for future scale development as well as tools for the trade, and they constitute the main tools that researchers can use for self-administered measurement of people's attitudes, conceptions of themselves, and perceptions of others. The focus is on up-to-date measures and the most recent scales and indexes used to assess communication variables. Providing suggestions for measurement of concepts of interest to researchers; inspiring students to consider research directions not considered previously; and supplying models for scale developers to follow in terms of the work necessary to produce a valid and reliable measurement instrument in the discipline, the authors of this key resource have developed a significant contribution toward improving measurement and providing measures for better science.

Tennis star Andre Agassi has been quoted as saying Image is everything. This may seem like an exaggeration, but it is true that, for many people, how they feel about their appearance means everything. Body image is a powerful factor in how we feel about ourselves, and those who suffer from a body image disturbance are vulnerable to a host of difficulties ranging from low self-esteem to bulimia and anorexia nervosa. Body Image Disturbance: Integrating Theory, Assessment, and Treatment is a provocative analysis that integrates explanations from social, interpersonal, feminist and behavioural cognitive psychology. This book is packed with research, assessment and treatment guidance. Clinicians, practitioners and researchers should value this book for its coverage of how psychology grapples with the troubling relationship between appearance and identity.

In addition to hundreds of new references features new to this edition include: a comprehensive introduction to qualitative methods including a review of existing computer applications for collecting and analyzing data; the latest information about the use of computers and online research techniques, including the use of the Internet to locate actual research instruments and journal articles; updated coverage on new scales, internal and external validity, and new analytic techniques with extensive references on each; abstracts, citations and subject groupings by measurement tool of the last five years of the American Sociological Review, Social Psychology Quarterly, and the American Journal of Sociology; extensive coverage of how to prepare manuscripts for publication, including a list of all journals covered by Sociological Abstracts along with the editorial office address and URL for each entry; new coverage of ethical issues; expansion of social indicators to include international coverage; discussion of the importance of policy research with presentation and discussion of specific models as an adjunct to both applied and basic research techniques; and the addition of an index to facilitate the reader′s ability to quickly locate a topic.

This work is a resource for programme evaluators and researchers who want to inform the practice of service learning. It advocates the use of multiple-item scales, presents the rationale for their use, and explains how readers can evaluate them for reliability and validity.

This three-volume handbook represents a significant and indispensable reference tool for those studying the family. Vol. 1 contains full abstracts of 504 instruments plus abbreviated descriptions of another 472. Basic scale construction issues can be examined through the combined use of Vol. 2 & 3. An excellent reference tool that will fulfil researchers and clinicians need for quality instrumentation.

The Handbook is intended for all researchers in education and the social sciences─undergraduate students to advanced doctoral students and research faculty. Part I provides an introduction to basic quantitative research methods, including analysis and interpretation of statistical tests associated with each method. Examples of qualitative designs and mixed methods research are also included. A chapter on measurement techniques in education and the social science is provided. Part II of the Handbook includes over a 130 instruments organized under 40 topics, extracted from the research literature. Each instrument is discussed in detail concerning its measurement characteristics used in its development. A section also includes Instruments Available through Commercial Organizations, which provide the latest sources for teacher and principal evaluation. New to This Edition -Enhanced chapters concerning Quantitative research methods with analysis and interpretation of research data appropriate to each statistical test. -Detailed chapter of measurement procedures used in instrumentation development, including the appropriate application of reliability and validity tests, item analysis, and factor analysis with analysis and interpretation of research data. -Introduction to Qualitative research design and appropriate methods, and the application of mixed methods in research design. -Expanded section of actual research instruments available for measurement purposes in education and social science research. -Enhanced section including Instruments Available through Commercial Organizations. This provides the latest sources for teacher and principal evaluation.