The following research guides are provided to help you learning more about using our law library and conducting legal research.
Learning Commons at the
^
^
Learning Commons at the
Internet Acronym Server
Provides a list of (mostly) acronyms (abbreviations constructed from the first letter or first few letters of the words of a phrase. This is not a dictionary. Users can search for an acronym and see what it means or search a word and see what acronym it is used in. Users can also add an acronym to the database.
Bartleby.com
Contains excellent reference works including American Heritage Dictionary, Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations, Columbia Encyclopedia, Robert’s Rules of Order, Roget’s II: The New Thesaurus, Strunk’s Elements of Style, and World Factbook.
LII’s Introduction to Legal Citation
Peter W. Martin’s primer on citation was updated in 2011 and is based on the 19th edition of the Bluebook and the 4th edition of the ALWD Citation Manual.
Legal Dictionaries
Links to legal dictionaries or glossaries of legal terms from the Stetson University College of Law.
Zimmerman’s Research Guides
An online encyclopedia for legal researchers by Andrew Zimmerman. Users can search by keyword/phrase or browse by topic.
The following research guides are provided to help you learning more about using our law library and conducting legal research.
United States Government Manual
The official handbook of the federal government containing information on the agencies of the executive, judicial, and legislative branches. Users can either browse through the table of contents or search by subject, name, or agency.
Federal Citizen Information Center
The first point of contact for people inquiring about federal programs, benefits, or services. (Formerly “Pueblo.GSA.gov”)
USA.gov
The United States Government’s Official Web Portal. Comprehensive collection of topical and customer-focused links to federal government web pages, including state, local, and tribal governments. Also available in Spanish.
U.S. Congress
Legislative Branch Internet Resources links.
U.S. Court / The Federal Judiciary
A clearinghouse for information from and about the United States Courts.
U.S. Federal Government Agencies
Louisiana State University (LSU) Libraries directory of government agencies including independent and quasi-official agencies, boards, commissions, and committees. Searchable by keyword/phrase.
The White House
The President, the Cabinet, and the Executive Office, including a video tour of the Oval Office.
Data.gov
Home of the U.S. Government’s open data, where you’ll find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, etc.
U.S. Census Bureau
2010 Census Data
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Documents Data Miner 2
FDsys Browse Government Publications
FDLP Desktop
California Courts
Links to California Superior Courts, Courts of Appeals, and Supreme Court web sites.
California Lawyers
State Bar of California Members records online. Searchable by name or by state bar number.
California State Assemby Members
Links to Assembly Member’s Home Page and includes biography and email address.
California State Senators
Links to Senator’s Home Page and includes biography and email address.
Federal Courts
Links to a clearinghouse for information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government, maintained by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts.
Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator
Nationwide directory of lawyers, searchable by individual name, firm name, and practice area.
United States Representatives
Provides contact information for members of the U.S. House of Representatives.
United States Senators
Provides contact information for U.S. Senate members searchable by name or by state.