Subject Guides: Academic Success Center (ASC): STEM

STEM Tutoring

The Academic Success Center offers tutoring in Math, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, and Statistics. Students can make an appointment by visiting our scheduling system.

All subjects are also available via drop-in.

Med Prep Program for ULV Students - Register Now!

HIPSS (Holistic and Inclusive Practices for Student Success) is providing a free Med-Prep program intended for aspiring pre-health (Medical, Dentistry, Optometry, Physician Assistant, Nursing or Occupational Therapy) students attending the University of La Verne during the 2025/2026 academic year. This program provides education, support, and resources for students interested in pursuing graduate school in the health professions, including MCAT prep.

The program will consist of different virtual sessions throughout the Fall 2025 semester starting with the pre-Health orientation at 10am Saturday September 6th. They are opening this program to ULV students who are not in the HIPSS program since they understand how valuable this is.

*****To register and see the themes that will be provided, please view the flyer to the right and use this registration link****

*DEADLINE TO APPLY IS WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 3RD, 2025 *

Sessions 4-13

Science

General Chemistry Review
This resource contains information on SI units, the metric system, significant figures, pure substances & mixtures, properties of matter, and nomenclature

Balancing Chemical Equations
This chemistry video shows you how to balance chemical equations especially if you come across a fraction or an equation with polyatomic ions. The goal is to make the number of atoms equal on both sides of the reaction. This video contains plenty of examples and practice problems with answers / solutions which can help you on your next worksheet assignment.
Presented by The Organic Chemistry Tutor on YouTube.
Foundations of BioChem Quizlet

General Chemistry: Electron Configuration
Includes rules and steps on how to write electron configurations. Includes image of s, p, d, and f orbitals on periodic table and their max # of electrons. Includes rules for short-hand electron configuration and ions
General Chemistry: Formal Charge
Shows how to draw resonance structures and calculate the formal charge on each structure. Includes rules on how to pick which structure is more stable.
General Chemistry: Lewis Dot Structures
Lists the steps for drawing lewis dot structures with examples. Includes electronegativity trend and how to calculate the number of valence electrons.
General Chemistry: Limiting Reagent and Theoretical Yield
Includes examples on how to find the limiting reagent. Also includes how to find theoretical yield and percent yield.
General Chemistry: Naming Compounds
List the rules for naming ionic and covalent compounds, binary acids, and oxyacids. Includes a helpful chart for naming ions and includes many examples
General Chemistry Molecular Geometery
Includes definitions for electron vs. molecular geometry and electron groups. Has a chart that lists all types of geometry with examples.
General Chemistry: Quantum Mechanics
Includes rules for finding n, l, ml, and ms. Includes helpful chart and examples
General Chemistry: Types of Reactions
: Includes rules for predicting reactants and products for acid-base reactions, combustion reactions, gas evolution reactions. Also includes complete and net ionic equations.
General Chemistry: Wavelength, Photons, and Energy
Includes description of wavelength, frequency, and amplitude. Includes formulas and constants for calculating energy. Also includes De Broglie Equation and Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle.
General Chemistry Molarity
Includes the molarity formula and conversion factors.
General Chemistry: Orbital Diagrams
Includes steps and rules for drawing MO diagrams. Also includes paramagnetic, diamagnetic, electron configuration, and Bond Order formula

Amino Acids Worksheet
A quick-reference guide that outlines the 20 standard amino acids, including their names, three-letter and one-letter abbreviations, structures, polarity, charge. It serves as a handy tool for studying protein structure, biochemistry, and physiology.
How To Read a Scientific Paper
This handout is a tool to help you read, know what to look for, and get a better understanding of what is being studied in a scientific paper.

Cell Structure Review
This biology video tutorial provides a basic introduction into cell structure. It also discusses the functions of organelles such as the nucleus, ribosomes, mitochondria, chloroplasts, etc.
Presented by The Organic Chemistry Tutor on YouTube.
Cellular Respiration
This biology video tutorial provides a basic introduction into cellular respiration. It covers the 4 principal stages of cellular respiration such as glycolysis, pyruvate oxidation, the kreb’s cycle, and the electron transport chain. It also covers anaerobic cellular respiration such as lactic acid fermentation and ethanol fermentation. This video contains plenty of examples and practice problems.
Presented by The Organic Chemistry on YouTube.
Lipids
This biochemistry video tutorial focuses on lipids. It discusses the basic structure and functions of lipids such as fatty acids, triglycerides, phospholipids, terpenes, waxes, and eicosanoids which include prostaglandins, thromboxanes, and leukotrienes.
Presented by The Organic Chemistry Tutor on YouTube.
Macromolecules Review
This Biology video tutorial provides a basic introduction into biomolecules. It covers the 4 types of biological macromolecules such as carbohydrates, lipids, proteins, and nucleic acids. It contains plenty of examples and practice problems.
Presented by The Organic Chemistry Tutor on YouTube.
Marine and Freshwater Macro.invert Quizlet
Monosaccharides
This biology video tutorial provides a basic introduction into carbohydrates such as monosaccharides which include Glucose, Fructose, Galactose, and Ribose.
Presented by The Organic Chemistry Tutor on YouTube.

Biology 101, 201, 202: Helpful Acronyms to Know
These are some acronyms that summarize the properties of life and our chemical make-up. There are seven main qualities of life, and all seven must be displayed, that can help classify organisms as “living”.
Biology 101, 201, 202: The Cycles
There are three cycles that influence living organisms and the environment that surrounds them. The carbon cycle, nitrogen cycle, and phosphorus cycle all play a big role in taking a chemical and converting it into a usable form that organisms can receive and use/transfer the energy or utilize as fuel or food.
Biology 101, 201, 202: The Cell Cycle
The stages of the cell cycle contain growth, DNA synthesis, and mitosis and are described in order. Since there are different types of cells, a cell can go through with mitosis or meiosis, and the differences/similarities are discussed what separates the two different cell divisions.
BIOL 101, 201, 202 Cell cycle review sheets
Biology 101, 201, 202: Organelles and Functions
Eukaryotic and prokaryotic cells share similarities as well as differences. The organelles that make up these cells is what serves as the differences from appearances to their overall functions.
BIOL 101, 201, 202 Organelles & Functions slides

Organic Chemistry

Organic Chemistry Professor (and former ASC tutor) Dr. Kat Bay created a phenomenal YouTube channel for La Verne students. "Chemistry with Dr. Bay" is a collection of short videos on fundamental chemistry topics. Topics covered include:

How to Draw Bond-Line Structures
Resonance in Organic Chemistry
Electronic Structure of Organic Molecules
Using pKa Values to Understand Acidity
Cycloalkane Conformations & Chair Flipping

Subscribe to "Chemistry with Dr. Bay" on YouTube for access to more videos and follow @chemistrywithdrbay on Instagram.

Organic Chemistry Basic Introduction

R and S Confirguration
Lists the steps for determining whether a chiral molecule is R or S. Also includes enantiomer and diastereomer relationships with a helpful chart.
Organic Chemistry: Substitution and Elimination Reactions
Includes the rules and mechanisms for SN1, SN2, E1 and E2 reactions. Also includes the reactivity and stability trends for each type of reaction. Includes examples and practice problems. Arrow movements are color coded.
Organic Chemistry: Synthesis Reaction Methods
Includes: Dehydration, hydration, hydrohalogenation, halogenation, halohydrin, hydrogenation, oxymercuration, hydroboration, epoxidation, ozonolysis, and syn-diol. Also includes definitions of markovnikov, anti-markovnikov, syn addition, and anti-addition.

Math

Pre-Calculus, Calculus I, II and III: Derivatives Worksheet
A set of extra derivative problems to work through for Calculus I, II and II classes
Pre- Calc Formula Sheet
A single-paged formula sheet with various formulas needed in a Pre-Calculus course, such as Pythagorean Identities, Sum and Difference formulas, Law of Sines and Law of Cosines.
Pre Calc: Trigonometry Formula Sheet
A resource for Trigonometry identities, Angle Identities and an image of the Unit Circle with respected guidelines.
Precalculus formula reference sheet

Calculus III: University of Utah Calculus III Formulas
This resource provides a wide range of various formulas used in a Calculus III course such as Vectors, Maxima and Minima, the Jacobian Method and Green’s Theorem.

Calculus: Trig Derivatives Quizlet

College Algebra: Algebra Formulas
This resource provides various formulas used in College Algebra, including Arithmetic Operations, Properties of Inequalities, Exponential Properties, Properties of Inequalities and Absolute Values. This resource also gives guidelines for factoring and important graph properties.

Practice Problems for College Algebra

College Algebra: Algebra Formulas
This resource uses common chapters of a College Algebra course to provide formulas and explanations of theorem’s like Pythagorean Theorem and Linear Functions and formulas. This four page formula sheet can be used to reference formulas throughout the College Algebra curriculum.
College Algebra, Pre-Calculus, Calculus I,II and III: ASC Mathematics Resource Source Links:
A list of different websites that support practicing of mathematic problems from College Algebra, Calculus I, II, and II.
College Algebra: Factoring Formulas
A formula sheet directed to provide support for various problems and rules for College Algebra problems such as Exponential Rules, Circles, Quadratic Formulas and Polynomial Division
College Algebra: Factoring Worksheet
This resource provides guidelines for factoring with analysis of different tools to use when solving factoring problems. Towards the end of the worksheet are practice factoring problems and their respected answers.
College Algebra: Factoring practice worksheets

College Algebra: Factoring with greatest common factor
This Algebra I factor gcf/difference of squares worksheet generates free practice problems on factor with greatest common factor.

College Algebra: Practice Problems for College Algebra
It pertains to students enrolled in any college algebra course, and it is a worksheet and answer key with problems about linear equations, linear inequalities, rational inequalities, and factoring. The answer key includes step-by-step instructions on how to solve the problems.

Please see resources below which provide guidance and information on Statistics.

Here you will all resources related to SPSS: